The Postal Service

The photo challenge pictures of post boxes threw up some interesting comments about how other countries manage their post / mail. So for those of you who live in ‘Foreign parts’ I thought I would explain the UK system.

If I want to send someone a letter or Birthday card I need to buy a stamp and stick it on the envelope. I can get stamps in loads of places – a post office, a supermarket, greetings card shops or even online. I can choose between 1st Class which should get there the next working day (but that is not guaranteed) or 2nd class (cheaper) which is slower. If I really need to be sure it gets there next day I have to go to a Post Office and send it ‘Special Delivery’ meaning it will be tracked and is guaranteed to arrive before 1pm the next day but that, of course is more expensive than 1st class. Then I need to put it in a post box. Every post office has one and there are others strategically placed around the towns and countryside though there are fewer than there used to be as use of ‘snail mail’ has dropped. When we moved here 30 years ago there was a telephone kiosk (the iconic red telephone box) at the end of our drive which was then moved to a lay-by (passing place on a single track road) just past the cottage next door where there was already a post box. The phone box was moved as fewer and fewer people used it thanks to mobile phones Then the postbox fell down because the wooden post it was attached to rotted. It was never replaced so now the nearest is a mile and a half away.

If I want to send a parcel as well as a card I need to take it to the post office where it is weighed and measured – the cost depends on whether it can be delivered through a letterbox at the home of the recipient or must be handed in, and its weight. I also have to confirm that there is nothing dangerous inside! The cost is calculated, stamps put on, I get a receipt as proof I posted it and it goes into a large sack behind the counter. Some Post Offices are large ‘stand alone’ places and others are a dedicated counter in part of another shop.

The post box at Cardigan Post Office – a large imposing building on the High Street

Postmen and postwomen drive around in small red vans delivering post and collecting items from post boxes and post offices. Every postbox has a sign on the front (the white rectangle in the photo) which says when it will be emptied. Round here all of them say mail is collected at 9am which is clearly not accurate. What it really means is ‘Not before 9am but anytime after that when we get there’! At bigger post offices there may be 2 collections each day.

The sacks of mail go to a Sorting Office in one of the towns and are distributed into other sacks according to where they need to go. It all used to be done by hand but now we have to put a Postcode onto all mail which allows it to be automated. My code is SA34 0JH – SA stands for Swansea, 34 means Whitland and 0JH is this stretch of lane with 9 houses. Then they are loaded into lorries, trains and even airplanes and taken to the sorting office for the area where they need to be delivered. So post for me goes to Swansea then to Whitland and then into the right little van for my lane.

Post for me arrives early afternoon usually but if I am sent something by ‘Special Delivery’ the postman has to do his round in reverse order so that it arrives before 1pm. He just hopes he doesn’t have one of those at each end of his round! But it is rarely used so he is usually OK.

Houses that are close to the road usually have a flapped slot in the front door for post to be delivered through. The postman parks somewhere on the road and walks up and down delivering mail. But out here in the country where driveways can be long most of us have a box of some kind near the entrance to save the postman time. Like many locals I use a ‘dead’ Microwave oven ( or popty ping in local parlance)!

If any of you feel moved to tell the rest of us how your system works I would love to hear from you. I wonder what Teddy Bears and Statues, the April topics, will get us talking about?

22 thoughts on “The Postal Service

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 9:42 am

      Quite a few pwoplw use them to sell eggs at the gate but there are also ones used as boxes for p[ost – quick and easy to set up and pl;enty of them to use.

      Like

  1. Lorna April 3, 2024 / 7:08 pm

    I enjoyed your explanation immensely; thanks! I have a lot of similarities here in my part of the United States (Kansas) except our postal codes are just five numbers (e.g. 68922 from my childhood. I still remember it!) Well, they have added a dash with four more numbers, but it isn’t mandatory.

    One BIG difference is they(the United States Postal Service) has rules about what qualifies as a mailbox, and a microwave would not qualify! Maybe if there was an approved mailbox inside the microwave. I love that you can repurpose stuff for a mailbox! Does yours ever get knocked over? I have lived in my current house 17 years and have had to replace my mailbox twice. Once because someone saw it as batting practice and smashed it to smithereens. The other because the tire tracks showed that someone ran over it with their vehicle. I do not know if it was intentional or the act of an impaired driver. Our current mailbox has stayed intact for several years now; whew!

    Lots of stories about mailboxes, I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 9:47 am

      I am so glad you enjoyed the post. If we put a box out it can be anything as long as the postman (or postwoman) can use it. Mine used to be an old milk churn inherited from the previous owners but it had rusted into holes and slugs and snails kept getting in and eating the envelopes! Sometimes it was hard to read the letter inside as they kept going! So when a microwave ‘died’ I made the churn into a stand for it and it seems less attractive to the slimy creatures. Thus far it hasn’t been knocked over but if it is it wouldn’t be too hard to pull everything upright again.

      Like

      • Lorna April 6, 2024 / 1:39 pm

        Oh, my, snails and slugs in your mail! Now there’s a visual!😁

        Like

  2. wunjo312 April 4, 2024 / 11:10 am

    Hi Lovely, Enjoyed your interesting blog about the postal services, especially with the illustrations. But, oh dear! Please don’t leave your postcode online. Especially with the helpful photo of your popty to identify your home. Not everyone who can read your blog is good people. Now I’m going to fret about you staying safe! Take care lovely girl. All good wishes from Llanddarog. ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 9:55 am

      Hi Wunjo. Thank you for your concern which I really appreciate. I did debate changing the postcode I used but decided that anyone who wanted to find me would find it fairly easy even without my postcode. Please don’t fret. I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. the next photos set by Cathy are a teddy bear and a statue. I have got the bear one but the statue is exercising my brain rather!

      Like

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 9:56 am

      Thank you. As you may have guessed I live on a small budget and get by by re-using what I have. There are pretty lockable boxes for sale but where would be the fun in one of those?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Laurie Graves April 4, 2024 / 7:21 pm

    I have never seen a microwave used that way. Love popty-ping! Enjoyed reading about your postal system. In the comments section of your previous post I explained our system.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 9:58 am

      Popty -ping is the proper Welsh name for a microwave. Popty is an oven so literally ‘a ping oven’. The idea to use it for post was not original but made use of something I had lying around. Thank you for telling me about your local system. It has been interesting to learn how other places work.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laurie Graves April 8, 2024 / 11:59 am

        It certainly is interesting to lean about how other places handle the mail. I think our system is pretty good, especially when compared with other systems in this country.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Itching for Hitching April 4, 2024 / 11:39 pm

    In the ‘burbs of Melbourne, Australia, we buy our stamps from the newsagent or the post office. Post offices are often mixed businesses with a postal licence. The postal service has been reduced in recent times so the postie doesn’t call as often as before the advent of email. The postie however, now has an electric ‘tuk tuk’, like a taxi that you’d see in Asian countries. With the rise of internet shopping the postal service now owns one of the larger parcel delivery services and they’re as busy as busy. Our postcode system is a 4 digit code. Thanks for your post (no pun intended) and getting my brain matter working.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 10:02 am

      I am so glad you found the post interesting and thank you for telling me about the system where you live. Some posties in town have tricycles or carts to help carry their heavy bags but I like the idea of a tuk tuk! It brought to mind that when i was a child living in Manchester the milkman had horse and cart which was replaced with an electric float (open sided van) long before anyone thought of electric cars. It was very slow but quiet for his early morning deliveries. I don’t think anyone gets milk delivered these days!

      Like

      • Itching for Hitching April 7, 2024 / 11:21 pm

        Gosh, my hubby was a milkman with a horsedrawn cart. He often reminisces about the horses and their knowledge of the streets. Horses were phased out here in the early 70’s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Going Batty in Wales April 9, 2024 / 2:17 pm

        One of my ealiest memories is feeding the milkman’s horse with a bread crust!

        Like

      • Going Batty in Wales April 10, 2024 / 9:50 am

        He was!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 6, 2024 / 10:03 am

      Thank you. It seems to have sparked lots of memories for quite a few people.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. tidalscribe.com April 21, 2024 / 6:31 pm

    I hadn’t heard of the recycled microwaves as letter boxes. When we emigrated to Australia we had to get used to letter boxes in the front yard and more amusingly there were no paper boys; newspapers were rolled up and tossed out of a van onto the front lawn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales April 22, 2024 / 9:50 am

      I am glad you enjoyed the post. I hadn’t thought about how different systems were in other countries until the comments came in.
      I find it fascinating how different people do things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment