A Bit of a Challenge

Mrs Snail (http://www.thesnailofhappiness.wordpress.com) has lent me the brilliant book Wheesht by Kate Davies. It is a series of short essays on aspects of creativity challenging some of the common assumptions made about how it works. At the end of each chapter she sets a challenge or challenges to facilitate an exploration of the theme. In the chapter ‘within limits’ she suggests taking a black and white photo each day for a week and also writing a haiku (17 syllables is the only rule) on the weather or some other simple subject. I thought it would be interesting to share them as a short blog series – it will help me keep at it!

This morning I tried to set my phone to take monochrome pictures but failed to find a way. How things have changed! Of course I am old enough to remember when all photos were black and white unless the photographer then hand painted the prints. A roll of film had to be loaded into the camera; a process which had to be undertaken in the dark or with only a red lightbulb for illumination, or inside a bag made of blackout material. The advice was to practice the process with an empty film spool first in the light and then in the bag as it was easy to jam the spool or damage the camera or not thread the loose end of the film onto the second spool correctly and find it had not wound on. There were usually 36 shots on each spool. After taking one photo you had to wind the film on manually. If you forgot or failed to wind far enough the same piece was exposed twice and the pictures would be on top of each other. Since film and processing were relatively expensive it often took weeks or months to use all 36 exposures. Then out came the bag again and you hunted for the light-proof container the film had come in. More fumbling in the dark and the full spool was safely in the tube to be taken to the Chemist or posted off for processing. Another wait until the processed negatives and prints could be collected. Only then would you know if there was a telegraph pole growing out of Uncle Tom’s head or you had cut off someone’s legs. Too late if you had made a mistake!

So here, thanks to the magic of photo editing, is my first picture and first haiku.

Clouds scudding across the sky make light and shade dance on the tarmac ahead

15 thoughts on “A Bit of a Challenge

  1. scythecymru July 10, 2020 / 11:00 am

    When my kids were small I remember their grandma taking a picture of them. They took the camera from her, demanding to see the picture she had taken and were thoroughly confused that it had no screen! They called it grandma’s “eye camera” because of having to look though the eye piece to take pictures. Lovely photo and haiku , enjoy the new practice

    Like

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:35 pm

      Grandma’s eye-camera as precursor to the i-phone camera – I like it!

      Like

  2. JanHanPhoto July 10, 2020 / 11:14 am

    Oh the fun and games of processing film. I did a photography course and although I enjoyed learning how to process in black and white. And I have to say that the images are very sharp. But I do prefer the ease of the digital camera.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:32 pm

      My late husband was keen on photography and set up a darkroom. I was just the assistant!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. nanacathy2 July 10, 2020 / 11:37 am

    When we were students I encouraged my husband to build his own enlarger which he did, although it was left to me to go the sweet shop to beg an empty mint tin for the body! I love your black and white image and the shadows on the lane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:31 pm

      Thank you

      Like

  4. Lynda July 10, 2020 / 12:13 pm

    What a fun exercise! Black and white photos make you see the subject and not get lost in all the colors. Well done!

    The oldest camera I remember was the Brownie Box we had when I was small. I liked how the pictures came from processing with deckled edges and some places stapled them into little booklets. Like Janhanphoto above, I too took a photography course. I miss the dark room and the ability to physically manipulate the B&W image with dodging and burning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:33 pm

      I used to help my husband develop his photos – mainly operating the timer!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. anne54 July 11, 2020 / 5:53 am

    I find shadows so fascinating. Add in a country lane wandering off into the distance, and you have got me! The Haiku is perfect. How clever you are. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s.

    Like

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:33 pm

      Thank you. I hope I can keep it up!

      Like

  6. tialys July 11, 2020 / 8:08 am

    There are a few photos in existence that my Dad had hand coloured – probably over 60 years ago now. It’s strange to remember the days when you had to wait for Boots to develop your holiday photos only, on occasion, to find that there isn’t one good one in the bunch.
    I am not a poet but your Haiku is lovely and complements the photo very well.

    Like

    • Going Batty in Wales July 11, 2020 / 2:34 pm

      Thank you. Life is certainly easier when you can see the image immediately!

      Like

  7. Helen July 15, 2020 / 2:18 pm

    I liked 35mm film – the anticipation of getting the photos back. The worst set I ever got were all blurred because, I think, something had gone wrong in the development. I always meant to get them reprinted but I wonder if anywhere would be able to do that now?

    Did developers really paint colours in?

    Like

    • Going Batty in Wales July 16, 2020 / 10:15 am

      In Victorian times they really did. Mostly just the faces and hands in flesh tone. I have just had some slides my husband took turned into digital images on a disc at a local camera shop. I noticed that they offered a printing service so it might be worth asking.

      Like

      • Helen July 16, 2020 / 11:09 am

        Good that you could get your husband’s photos changed into digital images. I will have to hunt out my negatives and see what can be done.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment